13th International ACM SIGPLAN Symposium on
Principles and Practice of Declarative Programming
PPDP 2011

Odense, Denmark
July 20-22, 2011

In cooperation with ACM SIGPLAN, co-located with LOPSTR 2011, WFLP 2011, and AAIP 2011

o  Conference Overview
o  Conference Program
o  Proceedings
o  PPDP Award 2011
o  Important Dates
o  Submissions
o  Invited Speakers
o  Program Committee
o  Registration / Accommodation
o  Contacts
o  Call for Papers
o  PPDP Home
Egeskov Slot

Conference Overview

The 13th International ACM SIGPLAN Symposium on Principles and Practice of Declarative Programming will take place in July 2011 in Odense, Denmark.

PPDP 2011 aims to provide a forum that brings together researchers from the declarative programming communities, including those working in the logic, constraint and functional programming paradigms, but also embracing a variety of other paradigms such as visual programming, executable specification languages, database languages, AI languages and knowledge representation languages used, for example, in the semantic web. The goal is to stimulate research in the use of logical formalisms and methods for specifying, performing, and analyzing computations, including mechanisms for mobility, modularity, concurrency, object-orientation, security, and static analysis. Papers related to the use of declarative paradigms and tools in industry and education are especially solicited.

This year the conference will be co-located with the 21st International Symposium on Logic-Based Program Synthesis and Transformation (LOPSTR 2011) and held in cooperation with ACM SIGPLAN.

The conference will be held at the University of Southern Denmark. Previous symposia were held in Hagenberg (Austria), Coimbra (Portugal), Valencia (Spain), Wroclaw (Poland), Venice (Italy), Lisboa (Portugal), Verona (Italy), Uppsala (Sweden), Pittsburgh (USA), Florence (Italy), Montreal (Canada), and Paris (France). You might have a look at the contents of past PPDP symposia. The PPDP site contains more information about the PPDP series of symposia.


The proceedings have been published by ACM press.

Most Influential Paper 10-Year Award

Starting with PPDP 2011, each year the most influential paper from the conference 10 years ago is selected by the PPDP Steering Committee and awarded with a small prize to recognize the authors' contribution to PPDP's influence in the area of declarative programming. The PPDP Award 2011 for the most influential PPDP 2001 has been given to the paper "Defunctionalization at Work" by Olivier Danvy and Lasse R. Nielsen.

Important Dates

Paper submission: March 15, 2011
Notification: April 19, 2011
Camera-ready: May 12, 2011
Symposium: July 20-22, 2011

Submission Guidelines

Papers must describe original work, be written and presented in English, and must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal, conference, or workshop with refereed proceedings. Work that already appeared in unpublished or informally published workshop proceedings may be submitted (please contact the PC chair in case of questions).

Authors should submit an electronic copy of the full paper in PDF. Papers should be submitted to the submission website for PPDP 2011.

Papers should consist of the equivalent of 12 pages under the ACM formatting guidelines. These guidelines are available online, along with formatting templates or style files.

Submitted papers will be judged on the basis of significance, relevance, correctness, originality, and clarity. They should include a clear identification of what has been accomplished and why it is significant.

Authors who wish to provide additional material to the reviewers beyond the 12-page limit can do so in clearly marked appendices: reviewers are not required to read such appendices.

Invited Speakers

Invited talks will be given by

Program Committee

Peter Achten Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Sergio Antoy Portland State University, USA
Michael Codish Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Moreno Falaschi Università di Siena, Italy
Amy Felty University of Ottawa, Canada
Michael Hanus University of Kiel, Germany (Chair)
Andy King University of Kent, UK
Hélène Kirchner INRIA, France
Francisco Javier López Fraguas Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Salvador Lucas Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Simon Peyton Jones Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK
Kostis Sagonas Uppsala University, Sweden
Peter Schneider-Kamp University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Doaitse Swierstra Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Paul Tarau University of North Texas, USA
Peter Thiemann University of Freiburg, Germany
Kazunori Ueda Waseda University, Japan
Tarmo Uustalu Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
Peter Van Roy Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium


Program Chair (contact him for additional information about papers and submissions):

Michael Hanus
Institut für Informatik
Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel
D-24098 Kiel, Germany
Email: mh@informatik.uni-kiel.de

Symposium Chair:

Peter Schneider-Kamp
Dept. of Mathematics and Computer Science
University of Southern Denmark
Campusvej 55
DK-5230 Odense M, Denmark
Email: petersk@imada.sdu.dk

Call for Papers

You can view or download the Call for Papers as

Michael Hanus